Navan’s Matteo Cigala takes powerful win in Newbridge

Navan’s Matteo Cigala recorded a powerful win in the A3 race at the Newbridge Grand Prix on Sunday.

Having tried on a number of occasions to break away from the bunch, the race was ultimately decided by a sprint finish.

Jamie Noone (UCD) tried to break away with 500 metres to go, but Matteo was alert to the threat.

“I just followed his wheel when he attacked. when I looked back I saw that we had a small advantage over the main bunch. A few seconds later I launched my sprint and with 100 metres to go, I could see that victory was mine. I had enough time to raise my arms and show off the club sponsors on the front of the jersey!”

“I am very happy with the result. All week I had a cold and a fever and only decided to race in Newbridge on Sunday morning. This is my second race at amateur level after the snowing race in Navan.”

Originally from Italy, where he started racing at the age of 6 and progressed to eventually represent the Italian national team, including at the Junior World Championships in Copenhagen in 2011.

However, he retired from racing at U23 Continental level at the age of 20. After some time working and traveling through Asia, Matteo eventually moved to Navan and is now pursuing a degree in business studies.

His love of cycling brought him into contact with the local club in Navan.

“I love this sport and cycling has given me a lot in my life. Not just 100 victories, but many friends and I got to travel the world with the Italian national team and got an awesome school of life. ”

“I want to say thanks to my girlfriend, her familiy and to Navan Road Club, their sponsors and my team mates. Hopefully I can keep up with good results during the season”

With his excellent start to the season, few would bet against him.

Matteo Cigala wins Newbridge GP A3
Photo: Matteo Cigala (Navan) celebrates winning the Newbridge GP.
Photo thanks to Sean Rowe

Cycleways Cup Results

Damien Shaw retains the Cycleways Cup for 2015
Photo: Alan Heary

Damien Shaw ASEA
Sean McKenna Aqua Blue
Eoin Mortin Ucd
Sean Lacey aqua blue
Stephen Murray Velo Revolution
Robin Kelly Waterford
Angus Fyffe
David Watson NDCC
Conor Murphy Caldwell Cycles

Unplaced A2
Paul Mulligan Caldwell Cycles
David Coughlan Velo Revolution
Karol Greene Carrick

Clubman Stephen Byrne

Aaron Swan NRPT
Adam Stenson NRPT
Kenny Wilson EACC Audi
Dermot White Lucan
Shane Kenny Mayo
Conor McCann NRPT
Damien Travers Dungarvan
Matteo Cigala Navan

Unplaced Juniors
Stephen Bryan Lucan
Barry Talt Murphys Surveys
Con McDunphy Lucan

Clubman John Clarke

Craig Longmore Lucan
Barry Hughes Drogheda
Fergus Fagan Navan
Pierre Kinsella Sheelin Flyers
Martin Connolly
Chris Mollaghan Orwell

Clubman Donal Clavin

Ciara Doogan Errigal
Eve Mc Crystal Garda
Maire Claffey UCD
Karen Robinson Garda
Ciara Kinch Towers
Orla Montague Dublin Wheelers