Details of Summer League 2014



The 2014 Summer League will start on Tuesday 6th May, and will run each week until late August. It will be run in a very similar way to previous years. Sign-on from 7pm @ Halfords carpark Navan, with racing starting at 7:30pm sharp. Cost is once again 2 euro per race. All riders require the appropriate level of Cycling Ireland licence in order to compete. This must be a ‘club competition/limited competition’, or a ‘full’ racing licence. Absolutely no One-day licences will be available. Race numbers are not required, but please bring your licence to sign-on as proof of eligibility. The routes used will be the same as last year, with a mixture of flat or uphill sprint finish-lines, along with Time-trials and Hill climb races. The aim is to allow riders to gain experience of all aspects of racing.

This league is run by Navan Road Club, and is primarily for our own members. However we have always allowed members of other clubs to take part, and will continue to do so……..but this is at our discretion, and if the numbers signing-on become too much to handle we will have to restrict entries. Please do not be offended if you are unable to take part on a certain night, as Navan RC members will always be given preference over ‘other’ club riders. We aim to provide a safe and fun way for everyone to have a good nights training/racing, and introduce riders to the skills needed to take part in open races.

Marshals :

The major change this year is the introduction of enforced marshalling for all competitors. The safety of all riders is our main concern, and with the increase in numbers and in traffic, this is a step we feel we have to take. We will require 5 marshals per race, and duties will be decided on the night. Flags, high-viz bibs, signs etc will be provided by the club. Everyone who wishes to race will be required to marshal at least 1 week during the summer. A minimum points score will be awarded (5 points), so you won’t loose out.! If you can’t attend when you are scheduled to marshal, it is up to you to find a replacement.! Riders can swap between themselves and there is no problem with someone marshalling on a number of occasions…’ll make plenty of friends anyway.!

We have drawn-up a roster of marshals based on the final 2013 league table, starting from the top placings and working down in blocks of 5.

***Any new competitors will also be required to marshal, and will be given dates as the league progresses……

Marshals for the first few weeks of Summer League.

Week 1 ;

Stephen McGovern
Lorcan McKenna
Paul Kelly
Ger Dunne
Michael Mills

Week 2 ;

Derek Madden
John Kenny
Gerry Harte
Vivian Dunphy
Marie Gorman

Week 3 ;

Denise Molloy
Blair Clinton
Niall Doggett
John Barczynski
Brian Moran

Week 4 ;

Pat Doocey
Fergus Fagan
Dessie Cladwell
Adrain Finegan
Ciaran Clarke

Week 5 ;

Enda Murray
Martin Bartley
Declan Byrne
Brian Lenehan
David Wherity


Points :

The points system will be slightly  changed this year. The minimum  score for each week will now be 5 points. This is the same as the marshalling points score, so  you won’t be loosing out when you marshal. Top points  for 1st place will remain unchanged at 25. Example of points;

1st – 25 points

2nd – 24 points

3rd – 23 points


15th – 11 points

All others riders, and marshals  – 5 points.

Scores will be added up each week and a League table will be posted asap. This will be posted on the club website and Facebook page, so keep an eye for all the latest news and results.