Cycleway Cup a huge success

Navan Road Club’s Cycleways Cup drew cyclists from counties such as Limerick, Waterford, Wexford, Galway, Belfast and more. The race is viewed as one of the first big races on the cycling calendar and top riders in cycling were all out in force. Martin Irvyne, recent gold and silver medal winner was a familiar face in the past on this race. Dry conditions led to fast racing over hilly terraine. With some attempts to break up the group it was to be Conor Murphy (Eurocycles) who took decisive initiative folowed by Damien Shaw and Greg Swinand. With strong riding by top riders the gap could not be closed by the chasing group of over twenty riders, despite attempts to catch them. Shaw tried to take lead in the closing minutes but Murphy would not to be deprived of his third win of the Navan Road Club’s Cycleway’s Cup and with a valiant sprint once again took first place on the line. John Kenny (NRC) newly upgraded to A1, held his place in the front of the chasing group just missing out, showing strong form at the start of this season.
Garry Jeffers of Easter Tyrone was fifth, another place for this young rider, having won the Hewitt & Gilpin Phoenix GP in Crumlin recently in his first A1 race. Navan Road Club’s Ambrose and Blair Clinton completed in style, it being one of their first main races. Simon O’Dea NRC was a faller as the rider in front of him hit the road. It was to be Navan Road Club’s Fiona Guihen who took third in the Ladies, her overseas experience and training coming to the fore. Stephen McGovern (NRC) took sixth in the A4 wearing the newly designed club kit across the line. There were a couple of fallers on the day a reminder of the challenges these racers face. The race was well marshaled and support from local Gardai helped the event run smoothly. The public were also thanked for their support for this great Meath event.

Navan Road Club’s Cyclway’s Cup A1/A2

Navan, Co Meath, promoted by Navan Avonmore

Conor Murphy (Eurocycles)
Damien Shaw (Aqua Blue)
Greg Swinand (Usher IRC)
Paidi O’Brien (Planet Tri)
Gary Jeffers (East Tyrone)
Javan Nulty (DID Dunboyne)
John Lynch (Kilcullen)
Brian Harte (Limerick CC)
1st B; Alistair Macauley (Phoenix CC)
Shane Baker (Usher IRC)

Unplaced A2

Mark Quigley (Western Lakes)
Stevie McKenna (Omagh Wheelers)

Dylan foley (Nicholas Roche Team)
Thomas Fallon (Bactonfoeil CC)
Brian Reynolds (Lucan CC)

Jason Prendergast (Conga CC)

Martin Gilbert (Swords CC)

Amy Brice (Phoenix )
Sarah Piner (Black Rose)
Fiona Guihen (Navan Road Club)

Val Gargan (Cuchulainn CC)
Paul Caffrey (Blanch CC)
Brendan Stewart (Lucan)
Damien Foley (Donegal CC)
Jamie Busher (Orwel )
Stephen McGovern (NRC)